Click Image to Visit the Pecan Grove Press Web Page for Poetry from Paradise Valley


Poetry From Paradise Valley

Pecan Grove Press has released an anthology of poems, a sampling of works published in Valparaiso Poetry Review during its first decade, from the original 1999-2000 volume to the 2009-2010 volume.

Poetry from Paradise Valley includes a stellar roster of 50 poets. Among the contributors are a former Poet Laureate of the United States, a winner of the Griffin International Prize, two Pulitzer Prize winners, two National Book Award winners, two National Book Critics Circle winners, six finalists for the National Book Award, four finalists for the National Book Critics Circle Award, two finalists for the Pulitzer Prize, and a few dozen recipients of other honors, such as fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, etc.

Readers are encouraged to visit the Poetry from Paradise Valley page at the publisher's web site, where ordering information about the book can be found.

Best Books of Indiana 2011: Finalist. Judges' Citation: "Poetry from Paradise Valley is an excellent anthology that features world-class poetry, including the work of many artists from the Midwest, such as Jared Carter, Annie Finch, David Baker, and Allison Joseph. It’s an eclectic and always interesting collection where poems on similar themes flow into each other. It showcases the highest caliber of U. S. poetry."
—Indiana Center for the Book, Indiana State Library

Saturday, April 10, 2010

A.E. Stallings at Valparaiso University: April 12 & 13

I am pleased to note that A.E. Stallings, poet and translator, will offer two presentations at Valparaiso University in the upcoming week. Both events are free and open to the public. I urge readers from the area to attend.

On Monday, April 12, Stallings will deliver a lecture, “Honey for the Physic: Englishing Lucretius,” which addresses issues involved with Stallings’ translations of poetry by Lucretius in her recent volume, The Nature of Things (Penguin Classics, 2007). The lecture will be held in the Christopher Center Community Room at 8 p.m.

The next evening—Tuesday, April 13—A.E. Stallings will read her poetry at 7 p.m. in the Duesenberg Recital Hall of the Valparaiso University Center for the Arts. Stallings is the author of two collections of poetry: Archaic Smile (University of Evansville Press, 1999), winner of the Richard Wilbur Award, and Hapax (TriQuarterly Books: Northwestern University Press, 2006), winner of the Poets’ Prize. Both books will be available for purchase at an author signing following the reading.

Stallings has also been a recipient of the Frederick Bock Prize and the Howard Nemerov Sonnet Award. Additionally, her work has twice been included in Best American Poetry anthologies, as well as the Pushcart Prize XXII Anthology. Her poems have appeared widely in literary journals, including American Scholar, Atlantic Monthly, Hudson Review, New Criterion, Poetry, Shenandoah, and Yale Review. A.E. Stallings lives in Athens, Greece.

No comments: