Click Image to Visit the Pecan Grove Press Web Page for Poetry from Paradise Valley


Poetry From Paradise Valley

Pecan Grove Press has released an anthology of poems, a sampling of works published in Valparaiso Poetry Review during its first decade, from the original 1999-2000 volume to the 2009-2010 volume.

Poetry from Paradise Valley includes a stellar roster of 50 poets. Among the contributors are a former Poet Laureate of the United States, a winner of the Griffin International Prize, two Pulitzer Prize winners, two National Book Award winners, two National Book Critics Circle winners, six finalists for the National Book Award, four finalists for the National Book Critics Circle Award, two finalists for the Pulitzer Prize, and a few dozen recipients of other honors, such as fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, etc.

Readers are encouraged to visit the Poetry from Paradise Valley page at the publisher's web site, where ordering information about the book can be found.

Best Books of Indiana 2011: Finalist. Judges' Citation: "Poetry from Paradise Valley is an excellent anthology that features world-class poetry, including the work of many artists from the Midwest, such as Jared Carter, Annie Finch, David Baker, and Allison Joseph. It’s an eclectic and always interesting collection where poems on similar themes flow into each other. It showcases the highest caliber of U. S. poetry."
—Indiana Center for the Book, Indiana State Library

Monday, May 17, 2010

Janet McCann Review: THEN, SOMETHING by Patricia Fargnoli

In the current issue of Valparaiso Poetry Review (Spring/Summer 2010: Volume XI, Number 2) Janet McCann reviews Patricia Fargnoli’s latest collection of poetry, Then, Something.

Then, Something, Patricia Fargnoli. Tupelo Press, 2009. ISBN 978-1-932195-79-8. $16.95

This book makes the reader ache beautifully. Its moving meditations on aging, loss, and sorrow, framed in striking nature imagery, both remind us of our own griefs and enhance our appreciation of the natural world. The poems make me think of Mary Oliver’s recent work, but Patricia Fargnoli’s has a more tentative, more questioning metaphysics. When all comes to an end, the poems ask, what lasts? There are exploratory forays toward answers, but no conclusive affirmation. The title is from Frost, whose “For Once, Then, Something” recounts the experience of someone looking constantly down wells and at last seeing “something” in the clarity of the water–“Truth? A pebble of quartz?” He does not know what he is seeing, but something is there, and the seeker must be satisfied with that. Even the attractive cover suggests this vision, with its photograph of a misty landscape in which an animal—a deer?—can barely be distinguished.

Pat Fargnoli is former Laureate of New Hampshire; her previous collections include Necessary Light, winner of the 1999 May Swenson Poetry Prize and published by the Utah State University Press, and Duties of the Spirit, published by Tupelo Press in 2005, and winner of the Jane Kenyon Award for Outstanding Book of Poetry. She also has two outstanding chapbooks, Small Sounds of Pain (Pecan Grove Press) and Lives of Others (Oyster River.) Each of her collections has a cohesiveness that maximizes its emotional power—the reader is listening to a distinct, clear voice, and this voice changes as the poet ages and her circumstances alter.

Then, Something is divided into five sections, the first of which establishes the tone with poems of an older woman, looking back at what she has valued, beautiful things and homely . . .

[Visitors are invited to read the rest of Janet McCann’s review of Then, Something and urged to examine all of the works in the current issue of Valparaiso Poetry Review.]


Radu Prisacaru said...

Fantastic blog. Keep on rockin, Radu Prisacaru – UK Internet Marketer & Web Developer

Maureen said...

How wonderful to know Fargnoli has published a new collection. She is a marvelous poet.